Top Dup Doughnuts; Balls of Bliss (Max + Sons)

If you’re a doughnut lover like me, you would have probably heard all the rave about Top Dup’s doughnuts by now. The guys behind Top Dup have the winning formula for a delicious doughnut; a centre full of cream/curd/custard, encased in a sugar encrusted bread-y shell. I love the generosity of the filling; I don’t want no glaze, coating or sprinkles.. just a whole lotta goodness inside!

I am the first to admit that I religiously stalk Top Dup’s Instagram page on a weekly basis to see their flavour offerings. You will also find a list of all the locations where their doughnuts are delivered every Tuesday, Thursday and Friday morning. Generally, the same three or four flavours will be available throughout the week.

It has become a bit of ritual for my fiancé and I to brave the cold and head over to Max + Sons on a Friday morning before work to get our doughnut fix. The doughnuts arrive at around 8am, and if you leave it too late in the morning, there is risk that the flavour you have been eyeing out for has sold out. So I guess it is inevitable that we have to eat doughnuts for breakfast on the occasional Friday! Although, we have stored these doughnuts in the fridge overnight before and they still taste great the next day as long as you take them out of the fridge about an hour or so before devouring.

I have eaten ten Top Dup doughnuts now (yes, I told you I was a big fan of doughnuts – don’t judge!).. and I have to say last week’s flavours were definitely my favourite!

Vanilla Bean

The humble vanilla bean; an old classic. I thought this would be a bit boring and lacklustre, but boy was I wrong. The smooth, creamy vanilla bean custard was so good! However, this one lacked filling in comparison to all the other doughnuts I’ve had.

Salted Creme Anglaise

Ticking off the holy trinity of sugar, salt and butter – salted caramel is something I cannot resist with its rich and luxurious flavour. There is something about the salty-sweet combination that is oh-so-good.

Passionfruit Curd with Coco-Passion Meringue

The passionfruit curd has to be my all-time-favourite doughnut so far. The zingy passionfruit curd was pure perfection; it had a fresh, citrus-y flavour and the meringue just melted in the mouth.

At $6 a doughnut, I must admit that it is a bit pricey. But if you really love doughnuts like I do, I can assure you that it is worth every dollar and all the calories too!


Max + Sons
140 William St, Perth WA 6000

Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday: 6.30am – 4pm
Saturday: 10am – 3pm

Click to add a blog post for Max + Sons on Zomato

Leave a Reply

