Whisk Creamery; Whisk It Good

Whisk Creamery first established its reputation with their superior soft-serve gelato and pitch a philosophy of using nothing but the freshest ingredients and a traditional family recipe. I remember when Whisk first opened, they only served gelato in a cup/cone and basic milkshakes. Now, Whisk offers a range of creative and whimsical desserts including gelato cakes, gourmet milkshakes, smoothies and sundaes.

One thing that my husband and I share in common is our big love for ice cream; we have never come across an ice cream we didn’t like or did not finish in its entirety. So we were pretty excited to be sampling some of Whisk’s unique creations after drooling over them for so long via numerous delectable Instagram photos.

Pink Panther Cone – a waffle cone filled with créme anglaise, roasted black sesame gelato, mochi & finished with raspberry/rosewater meringues ($6.50)

Black sesame is an acquired taste commonly loved by most Asians. Normally, I do like black sesame but there was something about the gelato flavour which I could not put my finger on.. the flavour just seemed a bit imbalanced. The créme anglaise was too watery and it was drowned out by all the other elements of the dish. I also found the rosewater in the meringue a bit overpowering.

Caramel Sandwich – a cronut filled with salted caramel gelato, burnt salted caramel sauce, topped with whipped cream & caramel sauce ($13)

Caution: this is not for the faint-hearted. It is a dessert on steroids; it is extremely intense! Even though I am renowned for having a sweet tooth, I found the caramel sandwich overbearingly indulgent and filling [even shared between two major dessert lovers]. After a few bites, I realised that too much salted caramel can be a bad thing.. the saltiness and richness of the caramel really starts getting to you. The cronut was also rather disappointing; it felt a bit stale and the consistency resembled more of a regular doughnut as it was quite dense, heavy and chewy.

Mario’s Mushroom – a magic mushroom made of pistachio fairy floss and crumbs (grass), taro with coconut jellies (stem), & almond macaron (head), finished with orange gel & coconut gel (flowers) ($16.50)

Aesthetically pleasing and adorable desserts call out my name – I had to try Mario’s Mushroom! The taro flavour in the gelato was too subtle, I wouldn’t have known for certain it was taro without reading the menu. I loved the coconut jellies and the light citrus hit from the orange gel which balanced the sweetness from the pistachio fairy floss and macaron.

Bubble Tea Cone – a waffle cone filled with thai tea gelato & boba pearls, finished with condensed milk & puffed rice ($9)

Anyone who knows me would know that I love bubble tea, so it was no surprise the Bubble Tea Cone was my favourite! It legitimately tasted like thai milk tea, just in the form of gelato. The boba pearls were just a little bit too firm for my liking.. but provided a chewy textural contrast against the crispy puffed rice.

Although Whisk offers a wide range of flamboyant desserts, I think the individual elements of each dish need to be perfected and refined in order to be truly raved about. However, the creamy and silky smooth gelato is always a winner in my eyes and is what keeps me coming back for more!


Whisk Creamery
151 Rockeby Road, Subiaco WA 6008

Opening Hours:
Sunday to Thursday: 11am – 9.30pm
Friday to Saturday: 11am – 10.30pm

Whisk Creamery Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

2 comments


Leave a Reply

