Pixel Coffee Brewers; Pixelated Thoughts

My husband and I ventured out of the main strip of cafes of central Leederville, and decided to have brunch at Pixel Coffee Brewers on a Sunday morning. Arriving in the later part of the morning meant that we had to wait about twenty minutes before we were seated at the coffee bar.

White Coffee

Pixel’s menu features pages of coffee options which I heard was supposed to be liquid gold.. so we couldn’t leave without trying their specialty. The coffee was smooth and creamy, served at the perfect temperature. I would have to say it was one of the best coffees that I have ever had in Perth!

Pixel Om: Omelette with Smoked Salmon Roses, Zucchini & Avocado Lime Sauce ($19.90)

Fresh and healthy are two things this dish screams. Classic combination of eggs, salmon and zucchini with a squeeze of lemon. Unfortunately, I could not taste a single hint of the avocado and lime sauce at all – perhaps this was forgotten. Some sort of sauce / relish / salsa would have really livened up the dish and made it a little more exciting.

Sweet French Toast: Egg Soaked Organic Sourdough with Fresh Banana, Chocolate Mascarpone & a Blackberry Syrup ($17.50)

One thing that let down the french toast was the type of bread used; I found the sourdough to be too dry, dense and heavy – I like my french toast to be light and fluffy. My favourite thing would have to be the chocolate mascarpone, I think it was dark chocolate or something that had a high cocoa percentage as it had a slightly bitter taste which complimented the sweet bananas and tart berries.

Macadamia, Blackberry & Lime Raw Slice

We were disappointed to see that there were no beautiful, decadent whole cakes displayed on the counter. So we decided to settle for a healthy raw treat. With its pretty pastel layers, the slice was the best looking thing on display in the cabinet.

While I could taste each individual flavour of blackberry and macadamia in the slice, I thought the lime over-powered the whole dessert. I also found the texture and consistency a bit strange, it left a chalky feeling in my mouth. Healthy and raw desserts seem to be all the rave lately.. but I must admit that I am not ecstatically jumping on the bandwagon.

In all honesty, I came in with high expectations and was a little bit disappointed with the food; there was nothing that really blew me away in terms of taste and flavour combinations. Although, I absolutely adored the coffee and would love to come back for afternoon tea and a big slice of cake!


Pixel Coffee Brewers
2/226 Oxford St, Leederville WA 6007

Opening Hours:
Monday to Saturday: 7am – 3pm
Sunday: 8am – 3pm

Pixel Coffee Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

