The Standard; Just A Standard Birthday

Last weekend was my birthday. After you pass a certain age [probably twenty-one for me], you tend to put less emphasis on celebrating another year passing by. I didn’t have much planned for my birthday weekend.. in fact, everyone seemed to be cancelling on me last minute. I didn’t really think much of it and was happy enough to be having a quiet dinner with the husband at The Standard on a Saturday night.

Little did I know, my closest friends had planned a surprise dinner for my birthday. What I thought would be a dinner for two ended up being a dinner for eight. This was the first time in my entire life that any friend(s) had ever planned a surprise for me.. so I was extremely humbled and touched to say the least!

Caribbean Blush: Cachaca, Aperol, Passion Fruit, Prosecco & Lemon Sherbet Garnished with Pineapple Puree & Thyme ($42 for a carafe)

To kick things off, we started with a pretty punch. A tropical, fruity concoction which was deliciously sweet, with a strong hit of alcohol.

Slow Cooked Squid, Green Mango, Mandarin Salad, Cuttlefish Crackers ($16)

Full of flavour, punch and tang, the squid salad was a beautiful little plate. I am usually apprehensive about ordering squid as I find most of the time it is too chewy, but I was glad to be proven wrong. The squid just melted in your mouth and was complemented by the tart green mango and the sweet mandarin and I absolutely loved the cuttlefish crackers.

Beef Brisket, Onion Cream, Daikon, King Oyster Mushroom, Horseradish ($25)

Pairing the incredibly tender beef brisket with onion cream and mushroom was a winner. I liked the subtle flavour of the horseradish coming through, as well as the slight crunch from the daikon. A flavoursome and hearty plate.

Usually, I am not one to blog about dishes I have not personally tried. But in this instance, I could not resist.. everything smelled and looked mouth-wateringly good.. I just had to snap a few photos – it was my birthday after all, and the birthday girl can do as she pleases, right?

Anyways, I don’t know about you.. but before I go to any eatery, I try and find photos of the dishes that catch my attention on the menu before making my decision. Visual appeal plays a big aspect for me.. so here are a few more delicious visuals to drool over.

Yellow Fish & Pineapple Curry, Gooey Rice Balls, Coconut Sambal ($24)

I was absolutely torn with the task of choosing a dish, the yellow fish curry would have easily been my second choice. It was a crowd pleaser, with half the table ordering this dish and everyone coming back with rave reviews.

Potato Salad, Cucumber Pickle, Fried Onion, Egg Yolk & Air Dried Pork ($18)

If all salads looked this good, I’m pretty sure a lot more people would be eating salad more often.

The Standard definitely does not serve just standard food. Honestly, I wish I could have tried every single dish on the menu. But my only real regret was not ordering dessert.

Great food with great company.. what more could I ask for. It was definitely more than just a standard birthday!


The Standard
28 Roe St, Northbridge WA 6003

Opening Hours:
Monday to Thursday: 4pm – 12am
Friday to Saturday: 12pm – 12am
Sunday: 12pm – 10pm

The Standard Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

