Nomstar Ramen; Nom Nom Slurp Slurp

On a cold winter day, my husband and I were craving something warm and hearty to fill our bellies. It was the perfect weather for ramen so we finally decided to try Nomstar Ramen for lunch.

DSC01494

Exposed brick walls, hanging pendant lights and a huge mural on the wall – the atmosphere is modern and industrial. A simple one page menu made it easy to decide what to order. Each bowl of ramen on the menu contains similar fillings with chashu pork and ajitama egg featuring in each and only a few slight variations in vegetables included.

DSC01492

Pork Gyoza ($7)

For starters, we had the pork gyoza which was absolutely delicious. The dumpling skin was silky smooth with the sides having the perfect amount of char and slight crispness from being pan fried. The filling was stuffed to the brim with pork, with notes of ginger and spring onion and the soy-vinageirette dipping sauce was the perfect accompaniment.

DSC01487

Ryo’s Spicy Miso Ramen ($14)

My choice was easy.. the spicy miso ramen was the clear winner in my eyes. Filled with homemade ramen noodles in a spicy miso broth, topped with chashu pork, ajitama egg, cabbage, sweet corn and toasted seaweed. The broth was thick, rich and hearty and contained a good amount of spice. I loved the addition of sweet corn which provided pops of sweetness. The chashu pork slices just melted in your mouth and the egg was cooked to perfection with the yolk still a little bit wobbly in the centre.

DSC01486

Shio Ramen ($14)

For his bowl of ramen, my husband chose the shio ramen which is a salt-dashi flavoured tonkatsu broth with homemade thin noodle, chashu pork, ajitama egg, cabbage, bamboo shoots and red pickled ginger. I found the broth way too salty for my liking (might I mention, I have a low intolerance for salt as I grew up without it in my home cooked meals).. and had enough after a few spoonfuls. My husband agreed it was a bit too salty, but still finished the whole bowl nevertheless.

DSC01490

Each bowl of ramen is filled with a generous amount of broth. The noodles were cooked perfectly al dante and had great texture and flavour; there really is something special about homemade noodles. However considering the price, I thought the portion size of noodles was slightly on the smaller side compared to other noodle/ramen places. I would have liked to see a whole egg, rather than just half.. and more pieces of chashu pork as the slices were rather thin. But overall, I enjoyed my bowl of ramen.. and you definitely must try the pork gyoza if you visit Nomtar Ramen.

You can find the perfect winter warmer in a rich, hearty bowl of ramen packed full of flavour to fill your belly and warm your soul!


Nomstar Ramen

34/230 Manning Rd, Karawara WA

Opening Hours:
Monday to Sunday: 11.30am – 2pm, 5.30pm to 8pm

Nomstar Ramen Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

